How do I track my mileage with the GPS?

Note: Continued use of GPS running in the background can dramatically decrease battery life.

First, read the Improving GPS accuracy section in the How does GPS Tracking work help item.

To start tracking, add or update a trip then scroll down to the Odometer section then tap the Start GPS Tracking row. Doing this will clear any existing odometer start, stop or distance entered manually.



To stop tracking, tap the Stop GPS Tracking row or the Cancel button or the Update button.



If the trip has already been tracked by GPS you can resume tracking from the last captured position by tapping the Resume GPS Tracking row



You will be given the option to continue from the last captured position by tapping the Add To Existing button or you can clear the previous tracking and start fresh by tapping the Reset Existing button.



While the trip is being tracked by gps, it is automatically saved periodically, so you can edit any of the fields except the odometer start, stop or distance. But we recommend when you are done with tracking your trip mileage by gps that you tap the Update button to assure the latest trip information is saved.

Also to ensure the best mileage tracking by gps, you should remain on the edit trip page in the app.

This is not to say you cannot answer a call, check your email or start another app because Track My Mileage should continue to run in the background but depending on the settings on your device it may not and since the operating system may terminate the app when it is in the background, we recommend keeping Track My Mileage as the active app as much as possible.


clock October 27, 2014 by author Support Team


How does batch update work?

Batch update allows you to update multiple fields for multiple trips with the same values all at once instead of having to update each trip individually. For example say you have 20 trips with the status of submitted for reimbursement but you need to update some or all to a status of paid. With batch update all you need to do is select the trips you want to update then set the status to paid then save your changes.

Below are the general steps to using batch update:
  1. From the Trips screen, tap the Batch Update button

    On the iPhone



    On the iPad



  2. Next select the trips you want to update, then tap the Continue button



  3. Then tap the Fields row, then tap the row with the field you want to update



  4. Next, tap the Value row and enter the value or use one of the other options which is specific to the field you selected







  5. If you need to update multiple fields tap the Add button on the toolbar and follow the previous steps.

    On the iPhone



    On the iPad



  6. To delete a field, tap the Remove row



  7. To perform the batch update, tap the Update button

    On the iPhone



    On the iPad




clock September 14, 2014 by author Support Team


How does the round trip feature work?

The round trip feature allows you to flag a trip as being a round trip. Additionally if you are calculating mileage reimbursements, you can choose to have the reimbursement amount automatically doubled.

By default these features are disabled, to enable them:
  1. Goto the settings screen and scroll down to the Trip Field Visibility section



  2. Then use the toggle switch in the Round Trip row to turn the feature on or off



  3. If you want to double the reimbursement amount then use the toggle switch in the Double Reimbursement row to turn the feature on or off





If you want the app to remember your last round trip choice then:
  1. Goto the settings page and scroll down to the Trip Remember Last section



  2. Then use the toggle switch in the Round Trip row to turn the feature on or off




clock September 14, 2014 by author Support Team


Can I turn off the confirmation I get when I try to delete single or multiple items?

  1. Access the Settings page.

  2. Scroll down to the "Multiple Item Delete" section.

  3. Use the toggle switch in the "Confirm" row to choose if the confirmation message is displayed:




clock July 23, 2014 by author Support Team


Can I turn off multiple item deleting?

  1. Access the Settings page.

  2. Scroll down to the "Multiple Item Delete" section.

  3. Use the toggle switch in the "Enabled" row to turn the feature on or off:




clock July 23, 2014 by author Support Team